top of page

'Tis the Season!

IT'S HERE! IT'S HERE! The holiday season is among us! Although it's hard to get into the spirit in my hometown (it's usually a depressing 85 degrees on Christmas Day), I still live for the cheesy hallmark Christmas movies, music and decor. That being said, if you find yourself with the same amount of Christmas nostalgia as I have - I'm going to tell you how to obtain that Christmas Miracle with just one flight - New York City, here we come!

There is no other way to describe Manhattan during the Holidays other than pure magic. It is beautiful, spirited, and straight-out-of-the-movies amazing. If you've never been (or even if you have), the sheer amount of things to do and see in New York City can be completely overwhelming, so i'm going to help you narrow down your Christmas-themed trip to the big Apple with all of the best and brightest December has to offer.

 

What to See:

1. ONE World Trade Center Observation Deck - now I know this isn't Christmas related, but the 360 degree views of the city are breathtaking. All first-timers, this is a must. I've been to New York City more times than I can count, and I've never seen it like this. It's a somber, yet humbling experience. Time Saver Tip: buy your tickets in advance. I recommend the VIP tickets where you can skip the line - unless you like waiting in the cold.

I also highly recommend visiting the 9/11 Museum. Although visiting both the observation deck and the museum can get a little bit pricey, this is truly an experience you must have at least once in your lifetime. You will see and hear some of the most heartbreaking, yet incredible things from one of the worst tragedies in American history. This isn't going to be the most mood uplifting , but I guarantee you will leave with a renewed sense of pride in your country and feeling so inspired by the strength and resilience of the citizens of the great city of New York.

2. HOLIDAY MARKETS - These. are. so. cute. Indulge in cup of hot apple cider or spicy hot chocolate and a fresh baked gingerbread cookie as you walk around and shop from local vendors. This is one of my absolute favorite things to do in the city during the holidays, it really gets me in the holly-jolly mood. Here are the markets I visited (try to see them all!):

  • Bryant Park's Winter Village - they have an adorable ice skating rink here, much easier to access than rock center

  • Union Square Holiday Market

  • Chelsea Market - this is indoors if you need a break from the brisk weather (I personally love the cold, but I know it's not for everybody)

  • Columbus Circle Holiday Market - located at the entrance to Central Park, this can help you kill two birds with one stone! Browse the market then take a stroll through the famous central park.

3. Window Shop - I don't mean look at merchandise you can't afford through a store window, but actually go look at the windows of some of New York's most famous department stores. Saks Fifth Avenue, Macy's and Bergdorf Goodman (as well as several others) put on elaborate window displays, truly incredible. While your at it, take a break from the cold and check out the inside, too. The winter wonderland-esce display definitely doesn't stop with just the windows.

4. Ok, ok, I'll say it - Rockefeller Center. Although I'm not technically a local, having my family all from NYC, this "tourist trap" is usually one they avoid, but I'll admit to have suckered them into to going with me to see the famous ice skating rink and gigantic Christmas tree once or twice. Beware: you WILL be stuck in a massive crowd trying to catch a glimpse, but i mean, you can't be in New York City during Christmas time and not pay your respects to the most famous Christmas tree.. well, ever.

5. Go explore the Stock Market Exchange and surrounding areas. Although not necessarily "Christmasy", the decor and lights are everywhere.

6. Grand Central Station - in true New York style, Grand Central Station is done up to the nines. Definitely not like any train station you'll see anywhere else.

 

Where to Eat & Drink:

I have been to more restaurants in New York City than I can even pretend to remember, so here are a few popular options, as well as some of the most recent and delicious places I've been to:

1. Fact: Unless you've been to New York, you have never had a good bagel. So please, go get one. Just about anywhere will do, but one of my favorites is Brooklyn Bagel Company. I'm a sucker for a pumpernickel bagel with some sort of savory cream cheese. But whatever you do, don't ruin these precious carb bundles by toasting them. Enjoy the freshness.

2. NYC Pizza, Duh. There are way too many places to get an amazing slice for me to list. My advice is avoid getting pizza from Little Italy, it's probably the least authentic NY style pizza you'll get.

3. Katz's Deli - the real deal. Enough said.

4. The original Shake Shack is located in Madison Square Park. I can't personally vouch for Shake Shack, since I've never been, but I've heard it's worth a trip for my burger lovers out there.

5. EATALY - this amazingly delicious, and equally charming Italian market has me drooling while typing. Walk in and experience authentic Italian meats, cheeses, homemade pasta and of course, vino. Located downtown and in the Flat Iron district (I ate at the Flat Iron location), go bring your mom home some real Italian olive oil, while snacking on some fresh made mozz and fluffy gnocchi.

6. Le District - located in Brookfield Place, this indoor french food hall is the perfect stop for a pre-dinner glass (or 2) of wine and a chartreuse board of the best french cheeses and oysters.

7. TAO - Asian fusion, sushi, lively atmosphere, killer martinis. What more could you ask for? The giant Buddah centerpiece and stadium like seating makes this a one of a kind dinner experience. Note: there is a TAO uptown & TAO downtown.

8. Taverna Kyclades - this has to be the best Greek food you could possibly get outside of Greece. There was not one thing that I tried that wasn't mind-blowingly delicious. The Greek salad was the best I've EVER had, and as a seafood lover, I opted for the seabass, but i honestly don't think you could make a poor choice here.

9. This will be my only non-alcohol recommendation: Jacques Torres hot chocolate. I like the spicy version, you're welcome.

10. ROLFs - Ok, this may be one of the coolest, funniest, tackiest, most awesome places I have ever seen. It will be packed wall to wall, you'll barely be able to move, but if you take away anything from this post, you HAVE to see this. This German-themed bar and restaurant is known for it's over the top (if there was a way to explain something that was more than over the top, this would be it) Christmas decor. You most likely won't be able to get a dinner reservation here (since the book months and months in advance), but you need to at least stop in and grab a hot mulled wine and soak it in (trust me, try the hot wine). You'll feel like a discount Christmas store just threw up all over you, and love every second of it.

11. 230 Fifth Rooftop bar - equipped with heated igloos and a killer view of the Empire State Building, a total Christmas in New York specialty.

I can make a whole entire new post on non-Christmas themed NYC must-dos (stay tuned....), but for now, get to New York City this Christmas and get your Buddy the Elf experience!

 

Oh, and one more thing, Go Giants!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page